Founded in 1908 with an initial layout of 9 holes, the course has been sympathetically extended over the years to achieve the existing beautiful eighteen hole course, situated approximately one mile from the centre of the town on the Eastern banks of the River Wear.
The course is mostly parkland with forestry surrounding the majority of the Eastern boundaries, with the banks of River Wear for most of the Western boundaries. Most of the fairways run in opposing North to South directions.
Lumley Castle (now a high class hotel) is the backdrop for twelve of the course's fairways, six of which also overlook the Riverside Cricket Ground (home of Durham County Cricket Club) with fells and hills beyond. The scenery and surroundings form a picturesque setting for the Golf Course.